Welcome New COGR Members



- Oakland University April, 2020
- Medical College of Wisconsin April, 2020
- University of Wyoming September 2020



COGR Staff



- Wendy Streitz, COGR President
- Toni Russo, Administrative Officer & Policy Analyst
- Jackie Bendall, Contracts & Grants Administration (CGA)Committee
- Robert Hardy, Research Security & Intellectual Property (RSIP) Committee
- David Kennedy, Costing & Financial Compliance (CFC) Committee
- Kristin West, Research Ethics & Compliance (REC) Committee
- Michelle Christy, Consultant



COGR Committee Reports October 23, 2020

- Moderators:
- David Norton, Vice President for Research, University of Florida (COGR Board Chair)
- Wendy Streitz, COGR President
- Panelists:
- Elizabeth Peloso, Associate Vice Provost, Research Services, University of Pennsylvania (RSIP Committee Chair)
- **Joseph Silber,** Associate Vice Chancellor for Finance and Sponsored Projects, Washington University at St. Louis (CFC Committee Chair)
- Naomi Schrag, Vice President, Research Compliance, Training & Policy, Columbia University (REC Committee Chair)
- Walter Goldschmidts, Vice President and Executive Director, Sponsored Programs, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory (CGA Committee Chair)

Research Security & Intellectual Property – RSIP Committee Members

- Elizabeth Peloso (Chair), U. of Pennsylvania
- Alexandra Albinak *, Johns Hopkins U.
- Allen DiPalma, U of Pittsburgh
- Cindy Kiel, U. of California, Davis
- Michael Moore *, Northwestern U.
- Dan Nordquist *, Washington State U.
- Jennifer Ponting *, U. of Chicago

- Kenneth Porter *, U of Maryland
- John Ritter *, Princeton U.
- Fred Reinhart *, U of Massachusetts
- Janna Tom *, U. of California
- Kevin Wozniak *, Georgia Institute of Technology
- Robert Hardy (COGR Staff)

* At-large members

New Committee member



Research Security & Intellectual Property — RSIP Current Issues & Updates

- Implementation of 2019 NDAA Section 889 Prohibitions
- Department of Energy orders
- Department of Education foreign gift and contract reporting updates
- Export Control Updates
 - Foundational technology proposed rule and comment letter
- Department of Defense CMMC Interim final rule
- IP updates
 - Bayh-Dole 40 celebration https://bayhdole40.org/bayh-dole-40th-anniversary-celebration/
- Other issues



Contracts & Grants Administration – CGA Committee Members

- Walter Goldschmidts, Ph.D. (Chair), Cold Springs Harbor Laboratory
- Stephanie Grey *, U. of Florida
- Charles Greer, U. of California, Riverside
- Stephanie Endy, Case Western Reserve U.
- Jeff Friedland, U. of Delaware
- Jeremy Forsberg *, U. of Texas, Arlington
- Jennifer Lassner *, U. of Iowa
- Steve Martin *, Indiana U.

- Bruce Morgan *, U of California, Irvine
- Lisa Mosley *, Yale U.
- Twila Reighley, Michigan State U.
- Craig Reynolds *, U. of Michigan
- Jennifer Rodis *, U. of Wisconsin-Madison
- Pamela Webb *, U of Minnesota
- Jackie Bendall (COGR Staff)

* At-large members

New Committee members



Contracts & Grants Administration — CGA Current Issues & Updates

- Developed a summary table providing guidance on NSF's Current and Pending Support requirements.
- Teamed with REC to respond to NIH Notice OD-20-124 "clarifying" NIH's expectations regarding the change in status of PD/PI, Other Key Personnel named in the Notice of Award or recipient institution.
- Formed a Uniform Guidance Working Group with members from CGA and CFC to review final revisions and strategize on how best to respond to agencies and OMB.
- Hosted Mr. Michael Peckham, the HHS Reinvent Grants Management (RGM) lead to discuss the outcome of this 3-year project.
- Hosted Dr. John J. McGowan, Deputy Director for Science Management and Executive Officer, NIAID and Dr. Jill Harper Associate Director for Science Management and Deputy Executive Officer, NIAID.



Research Ethics & Compliance – REC Committee Members

- Naomi Schrag, (Chair), Columbia U.
- Lynette Arias, U. of Washington
- Lois Brako *, U. of Michigan
- Theresa Colecchia, Johns Hopkins U.
- Keri Godin *, Brown U.
- Grace Fisher-Adams *, California Institute of Technology
- Karen Hartman *, Mayo Clinic
- J.R. Haywood *, Michigan State U.

- Mary Mitchell *, Mass General Brigham
- Kerry Peluso, Florida State U.
- Brian Smith *, U. of California, San Francisco
- Ara Tahmassian *, Harvard U.
- Debra Thurley *, Pennsylvania State U.
- Kristin West (COGR Staff)

* At-large members

New Committee members



Research Ethics & Compliance – REC Current Issues & Updates

- Meeting with ORI Representatives re. ORI Initiatives
 - Retractions Review Project
 - RFI on Responsible Conduct of Research Training
- Discussion with Dr. Carrie Wolinetz re. NIH Guidance Regarding Change in Status of PI/PD and Transfer of Award
 - Joint CGA/REC meeting re. NIH Notice NOT-OD-20-124
- Responses to Requests for Information Re. Animal Research
 - RFIs on semiannual inspections
 - RFI on protocol grant congruency review
- Disclosure Practices Survey
- New Project: Conflict of Commitment Principles Framework



Costing & Financial Compliance – CFC Committee Members

- Joseph Gindhart (Chair), Washington U. at St. Louis
- Robert Andresen *, U. of Wisconsin
- Sarah Axelrod, Harvard U.
- Michael Daniels, Northwestern U.
- Vivian Holmes *, Boston U.
- Cynthia Hope *, Georgia Institute of Technology
- Michael Legrand *, U. of California, Davis
- Nate Martinez-Wayman *, Duke U.

- Lynn McGinley, U. of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston
- Gerald Mauck *, U of Denver
- Jeffrey Silber, Cornell U.
- Marcia Smith *, U. of California, LA
- Renotta Young *, Columbia U.
- Cathy Snyder, Vanderbilt U.
- David Kennedy (COGR Staff)

* At-large members

New Committee members



Costing & Financial Compliance – CFC Current Issues & Updates

- Extend OMB Flexibilities & GAO Study
- NSF HERD Request RA/FTE Data
- Compliance Supplement
- ONR and DS2s
- UG Readiness Guide
- NSF Terms & Conditions Telecom
- Mike Daniels Retirement
- Research Impact

